About Us

// OUR MISSION

At VCPI, our mission is to advance public safety by providing unparalleled training and services for law enforcement professionals and the communities they serve.

VCPI is a non-profit organization based in Richmond, Virginia. We partner with law enforcement organizations and the communities they serve throughout the United States to provide a wide variety of educational resources, contemporary content, and capacity-building services. Since our inception in 1997, we’ve served more than 60,000 public safety officers and others nationwide through training in dozens of topics such as violence interdiction, drug interdiction, youth gun violence, gangs, community policing, problem solving, leadership, human trafficking, interview and interrogation, forensics investigations, ethical decision making, organizational change, and many others. Our organization has received more than $40 million in state and federal awards to develop and deliver training and technical assistance programs to public safety nationwide.

// Our Team

Board

Shannon Dion

Director,

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services

Thierry Dupuis

Chief of Police (retired)

Douglas A. Goodman, Jr.

Chief of Police

Ashland Police Department

F. W. Howard, Jr.

VCPI Board Member,

Sheriff (retired)

John W. Jones

Executive Director,

Virginia Sheriffs’ Association

Jay W. Malcan, Ph.D.

VCPI Board President

J. Joseph McLaughlin Jr.

Sheriff

New Kent County Sheriff’s Office

Anthony W. Roper

Sheriff,

Clark County Sheriff’s Office

Dana Schrad, J.D.

Executive Director

Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police

Arthur Townsend Jr.

Sheriff

Lunenburg County Sheriff’s Office

STAFF

Lynda S. O'Connell, CAE

Lynda S. O'Connell, CAE

Executive Director

loconnell@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-0601

Adam Wojcicki, CAE

Adam Wojcicki, CAE

Deputy Director

awojcicki@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-0383

Sheila H. Gunderman

Sheila H. Gunderman

Director of Programs

sgunderman@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-0617

Michele Semko

Michele Semko

Finance Manager

finance@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-0385

Evan Mishler

Evan Mishler

Digital Design and Technology Manager

emishler@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-0380

Sarah Scott

Sarah Scott

Program Manager

sscott@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-0619

Richard Borean

Richard Borean

Strategic Communications Manager

rborean@vcpionline.org
(804) 343-1436

Christine Bryce

Christine Bryce

Project Coordinator

cbryce@vcpionline.org
(804) 528-5009

Domenick Chiddo

Domenick Chiddo

Research, Development, and Production

dchiddo@vcpionline.org
James Daly

James Daly

Program Manager

jdaly@vcpionline.org
(571) 238-6746

David Gardner

David Gardner

Program Manager

dgardner@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-0679

Sherry LaBorne

Sherry LaBorne

Finance Coordinator

slaborne@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-3352

Kate Laney

Kate Laney

Program Coordinator

klaney@vcpionline.org
(804) 343-1432

Elizabeth Maddox

Elizabeth Maddox

Digital Production & Graphic Design Specialist

emaddox@vcpionline.org

Jakrit Patchimanon

Jakrit Patchimanon

Digital Design and Technology Specialist

edesign@vcpionline.org

Amy Sheets

Amy Sheets

Program Manager

asheets@vcpionline.org
(804) 644-0616

Robert Skowron

Robert Skowron

Program Manager

rskowron@vcpionline.org
(804) 822-6802

Jeffrey J. Steger

Jeffrey J. Steger

Program Manager

jsteger@vcpionline.org
(757) 870-0223

Heather Stocker

Heather Stocker

Research, Development, and Production

hstocker@vcpionline.org

We’re Hiring!

VCPI is hiring for the positions of Content Development Specialist and Training Services Manager

Faculty

VCPI has the privilege of working with the best public-safety trainers, educators and subject-matter experts in the nation. These talented people dedicate their entire careers to public service, sharing decades of experience and expertise with us in the classroom and beyond. VCPI Faculty impact the public-safety profession on a daily basis, working hand-in-hand with our staff to deliver services which are current and focused on the issues relevant to the communities we serve.

Collectively, our Faculty’s demonstrated commitment to excellence is extraordinarily impressive. Individually, and perhaps most importantly, their passion for improving future generations of public safety inspires everything we do.

Interested in joining the VCPI faculty? We are always looking for people who share in our vision. Click the button below to download the faculty application. We can’t wait to hear from you!

// 2017-2018 Annual Report

For over 20 years, the Virginia Center for Policing Innovation has been at the forefront of public safety and community policing, and our work is more relevant and urgent than ever. This past year has been an extraordinary opportunity for VCPI to expand its reach and create innovative ways to support public safety professionals and the communities they serve.

We’ve risen to meet the challenge. In this past year, we’ve launched new programs, built on recent successes and added talent to our growing team. We’ve implemented new ways to impact our audiences, embracing technology as a powerful means to further our mission. VCPI’s extensive online training initiatives have allowed us to provide the law enforcement community with unique web-accessible content on an unprecedented national scale. We are developing resources and tools specific to the needs of public safety across the country and through the innovative use of technology, these tools have become even more dynamic and widely used.

Simultaneous with our development of digital tools and resources, we’ve continued our work on the ground in communities across the country. VCPI has built a strong tradition of engaged, interactive instruction, and we’ve brought public safety officials and local leaders together through in-person training sessions that directly meet their needs, no matter the setting.

Above all, our focus continues to be on value. Whether we’re designing online curricula or conducting in-person training events, what’s driven our work has always been a dedication to high-quality, substantive resources for the public safety community.

We’re looking ahead to the new year with excitement. At the moment, we’re finalizing multiple development projects and gearing up to launch these new in-person and online training resources across the country. Simultaneously, we are kicking off several brand new national public safety programs and working with local agencies nationwide to develop and deliver solutions to their unique and varied public safety issues. The intersection of public safety and community policing is an ever-changing environment, and as VCPI becomes more robust and versatile, we have an opportunity to make an impact like never before.

Lynda Schwartz O'Connell, CAE

Executive Director, VCPI